Sustainable Development Goals

The United Nations (UN)

After World War II the United Nations (UN) was established. The member states commit to the principles of the UN Charter. This commitment should result in the securing of peace in the world and international security as well as in promoting international cooperation and relations. The UN Charter describes the United Nations’ objectives and functions, their political entities and responsibilities.


In June 1945 the United Nations Charter was adopted by 50 states. In 2011 192 states had subscribed the Charter.

The functions of the UN that follow from the objectives and principles described in the Charter are elaborated by different entities (e.g. special organizations, funds, programs). The Human Rights Act and the International Law serve as a guide concerning all actions. In September 2000 the member states agreed on 21 specific goals and 60 indicators that should improve the global situation in comparison to 1990 by 2015. These are called the Millennium Development Goals, which were replaced by the Global Goals for Sustainable Development in 2015.

Global Goals for Sustainable Development

The Global Goals for Sustainable Development were adopted by the member states of the UN and are relevant for all states in the world. As the centrepiece of the declaration the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) outline 17 goals for sustainable development. The SDGs base on five principles, the so-called “5 Ps”

PEOPLE: The focus is on Human dignity. Poverty and starvation should be reduced.

PLANET: Planet Earth should be protected. Climate change should be reduced. Necessities of life should be obtained.

PROSPERITY: Well-being of all humans should be promoted. Globalization should be fair.

PEACE: Peace should be promoted by human rights and good governance.

PARTNERSHIP: Global partnership should be forged.


For further information: